Fourth of July Trivia

Here’s a little Fourth of July Trivia for you to help you celebrate the holiday! Stay tune for a post on what the 4th of July was like for a typical family living in the 1830s in New England.

Question 1
In what year did the first fireworks display occur in the United States to celebrate the Fourth of July?
a) 1805
b) 1825
c) 1873
d) 1912

Question 2
In what year was the Fourth of July declared a federal legal holiday in the United States?
a) 1921
b) 1936
c) 1941
d) 1947

Answers below the cut.

Question 1
Fireworks first appeared in celebration of the Fourth of July in 1805 in Charleston, South Carolina. This was also the year of the first Independence Day celebration west of the Mississippi, which occurred at Independence Creek and was celebrated by Lewis and Clark.

Question 2
In 1941, 142 years later, Congress declared the Fourth of July a federal legal holiday. It is one of the few federal holidays that have not been moved to the nearest Friday or Monday.

Okay so how’d you do? Now don’t lie!!

3 Responses to Fourth of July Trivia

  1. Audry says:

    I didn’t know either answer, but now I do 😀

  2. Jennifer says:

    I knew the 1805 and I almost said 1941 but went with 1936 – I knew it was around that time. The first one I knew from my research.

  3. Lara says:

    I guessed both wrong! But, hey, learnt something new!

Leave a comment