Book Review – Blackbeard’s Lost Treasure

Blackbeard’s Lost Treasure: H.G. Doyle, The Greatest Detective of All Time (Book 1)
Craig Venezia
Adventure/Time Travel
Age 6+
1 Audio disc

Chapter Book Ages 6+

Chapter Book Ages 6+

Craig Venezia’s Blackbeard’s Lost Treasure brings H.G and his best friend Agatha back to 1718 in search of—you guessed it—Blackbeard’s lost treasure!

H.G. has a time machine! Only he’s not quite sure how to work it yet, which causes a few mishaps and a couple of unplanned stops in his quest to find Blackbeard’s lost treasure. But H.G., the greatest detective of all time, doesn’t let that get in his way. A fast thinker, he manages to get out of one scrape after another.

This story is filled with twist and turns you don’t see coming and that keep you on the edge of your seat. H.G. is a bright and funny character with little quirks that I promise will endear him to you before you’re even five minutes into the story. After all, what kid can’t relate to “being allowed to time travel, but only after his homework is done.” With a strong plot, strong character, and awesome sound effects I guarantee you’ll get pulled in and enjoy the ride.

Blackbeard’s Lost Treasure, the first book in the H.G. Doyle series is unique in that it went straight to audio. I can understand why the publishers did this. The story is full of opportunities to use sound effects, from ocean waves and seagulls to wedding music to shovels digging to the splat of drool from a t-rex. The audios are used to get us to cringe, to laugh, to sigh and so much more. I look forward to H.G.’s next adventure!

My favorite line: “…flashing my, ‘I’m sorry, but I’m cute’ smile…” Brought back many childhood memories where I tried to be cute to get out of trouble!

5 Responses to Book Review – Blackbeard’s Lost Treasure

  1. Audry says:

    This sounds cute. I don’t know many 6+ year olds… but I bet my nephew Silas might like it. He’s almost 6, but very precocious. Maybe I’ll recommend it and see what they think. Or maybe I’ll listen to it first and then recommend it 😀

  2. Jeff says:

    Hey, I’m at least 6+. I’m getting this one!

  3. Jennifer says:

    That’s the spirit!

  4. Lara says:

    I love the sound of this book! It is cool! I wish I knew some 6 year olds, alas my friend’s daughter is only 3!
    And the girls I coach are 11+!

  5. Tricia says:

    Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

