Odd Scraps for the Economical

America Frugal Housewife

Straw carpets should be washed in salt and water, and wiped with a dry, coarse towel. They have a strong tendency to turn yellow; and the salt prevents it. Moisture makes them decay soon; therefore they should be kept thoroughly dry.

…presented to you from The American Frugal Housewife – Dedicated to those who are not ashamed of economy, by Mrs. Child…

4 Responses to Odd Scraps for the Economical

  1. Mike says:

    Do you mean “economical”?

  2. Hmmm…I just picked up a straw mat at the beach. I may try this to keep it around for another season. 😉

    Cheers,
    Heidi

  3. The Damsels says:

    Mike: This is why I should never do posts last minute, and late at night when I’m exhausted. Though if you’d had the week I’ve had, you’d understand! All fixed. 😀

  4. Emilie says:

    Silly me, I thought straw was already yellow…:) I love these tips!

Leave a Reply

