Pictures from the Past: Emilie

1984—Facts About Me

 • This picture was taken at Christmastime 1984, so I was thirteen months old.pics from the past sept

• I lived in Van Wert, Ohio, where both my parents had grown up.

 • At the time, I was an only child, and the only granddaughter on both sides of my family.

• The Raggedy Ann doll I’m holding was given to me by my paternal grandmother, Gloria Bauer. She later gave me a Raggedy Andy doll to match.

 • In this picture, my mom was a year older than I am right now…scary thought!

1984—World Events

• Apple introduced the first Macintosh computer.

• At the Sarajevo Winter Olympics, British ice dancers Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean scored twelve perfect 6.0 marks for their free program and became the first non-Soviets to win the gold medal in ice dancing.

 • The Soviet Union boycotted the Los Angeles Summer Olympics.

 • Ronald Reagan was elected to a second term of office.

• A leak from a Union Carbide plant in India killed more than 2,000 people.

 • Several of Britain and Ireland’s most popular musicians formed a group called Band Aid and recorded the song “Don’t They Know It’s Christmas” to raise money for a famine in Ethiopia that killed more than one million people by the end of the year.

5 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Emilie

  1. Jennifer says:

    You look SOOOOO like your mom! CAn you believe personal computers started back in the 80s??? I remember when we got our first computer I was in 6th grade and it was a huge deal, not to “use” but to play games on! And to learn German with! My dad got a Learn German computer program (we were living in Germany at the time). And he also had a typing program, which I remember using.

    At that time I was learning how to type on type writers! I’m not kidding, 7th grade typing class and our school had type writers 😀 I’m showing my age hehe.

  2. Emilie says:

    Oh, look who’s talking with the you-look-like-your-mom bit:) Every time I see your avitar pic, I think it’s you holding someone else’s kid instead of your mom holding you.

    And yeah, I was surprised Apple introduced computers that early, because I certainly didn’t have one in my house or my school until the mid-90s. I remember being fascinated by my dad’s work computer when he would take me in with him–I used to type “U” all the way down the black screen in neon green:) Ahh, good times, good times…

  3. Jennifer says:

    I know 😀 but I don’t see it as much in my mom and my self (at least not like other people) and I just had to comment 😀

  4. Audry says:

    haha, when I saw the picture I thought wow, Emilie looks as much like her mom as Jennifer does (judging from pictures of Emilie). And every time I see that picture of Jennifer and her mom I think the same thing.. that it’s Jennifer holding a kid 😀 Too bad Tricia’s picture doesn’t show her mother… maybe that’s why you three like history so much 😀

    I’m surprised you guys didn’t have computers till the early/ mid ’90s, we got our first one in 1985. I was in kindergarten. Of course, we had that SAME old dinosaur till I was in 12th grade 😀 We had them at school too; I remember learning to type on a computer in 4th grade… it had this program that put words on the screen and you typed them and it told you how many words/ minute you were typing… I think my overall best ever score was 15 wpm :D:D

  5. […] to ford the river or caulk the wagon and float across? After the lively discussion on my Picture from the Past about Apple releasing its first Mac in 1984, I couldn’t resist doing a post where tech/pop […]

Leave a Reply

