Pictures from the Past: Tricia

1963 — Facts About Me

tricia• I’m pretty sure this was my kindergarten photo and I was five years old.

• We lived on a US air force base in Germany.

• I was the fourth of five kids and very shy at the time. (No laughing Damsels!)

• We had periodic air-raid drills where those in the apartment-style housing had to gather in the basement of the buildings.

1963 — World Events

• January 11: The Beatles release their single “Please Please Me” and on the flip side “Ask Me Why.”

• July 1: ZIP Codes are introduced for United States mail.

• August 8: Great Train Robbery in England, 2.6 million pounds ($7.3 million) stolen.

• August 28: Civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr., delivers his “I Have a Dream” speech before an audience of 250,000 near the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC.

• Sept. 30 to Oct. 8: Hurricane Flora left over 7,000 people dead in Haiti, the Dominican Republic, and Cuba, making it one of the five deadliest hurricanes in Atlantic history.

• November 22: US President John F. Kennedy assassinated.

4 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Tricia

  1. Jennifer says:

    I don’t feel quite so old now 😀

    Zip Codes! It’s so funny I’ve never given zip codes a second thought, they’ve been a part of my life since I was old enough to remember, but talk to my grandfather and he can remember all these things and tell me about them. Very Cool.

    And my grandmothers old letters from 1905…it’s all so vastly different from today. I LOVE history. Have I mentioned that!?!

  2. Kate says:

    Mom!! You’re so cute!! ^_^
    ❤ you!

  3. Emilie says:

    Wow…you and Jennifer were such world travelers at such a young age, while I was living in Ohio. Don’t I feel prosaic.

  4. Tricia says:

    Thanks, Kate! 😀

Leave a Reply

