Contest: Rotaida and the Runestone AND Royal Spy

This week we’re once again giving away two books in one contest!

Is there a historical figure you’d like to read about or write about? Tell us who it is and why. Each comment will be entered in a drawing to win a copy of Marjorie Watkins’ books, Rotaida and the Runestone and Royal Spy. The winner will be announced next Friday, October 23. Good luck!

5 Responses to Contest: Rotaida and the Runestone AND Royal Spy

  1. Lara says:

    This one is a hard one, there are so many! I think if I were to choose just one it would have to be Jane Austen. I think for someone who wrote some of the most amazing pieces of literature she lived quite a sad and solitude life. When I think about Austen, I imagine she was much like Mary in Pride and Prejudice, she watched her sisters have the life she wanted but never really had the ability to have that life.
    Someone else would be Marie Laveau, she is the Voodoo Queen and I think she would have led quite an interesting life.
    Oh, I could go on and on about historical figures that I would write or read (probably read because my writing skills are limited) about. But I like people who have made a significant impact but not necessarily led a big life.

  2. Jennifer says:

    So I supposed this is an unknown historical figure (if it even counts) but I’ve always wanted to know who fired the first shot of the Revolutionary War 😀 Who was he? What did he do? Why’d he fire?

  3. Audry says:

    I’m not sure who I’d want to write about specifically, but I think it would be interesting to write about a person who isn’t well known, but had a significant impact on some historical event. I’m currently reading a fictional series that begins right before the (unsuccessful) Scottish uprising of 1745 and continues through the American Revolution, and have been fascinated over and over again to find that characters in the series were actually real people from the time period who played important roles, yet who I’d never heard of. I think it would be cool to research an event or time period, find people who never quite made most of the history books, and tell their stories.

  4. Emilie says:

    Oooh, Audry, what’s the name of the book you’re reading? I love that era in British history (though the American side has left me a little burned out over the years).

  5. Audry says:

    The series is the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. The first two books, Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber are the ones that take place in Scotland during the Jacobite uprising. The later books are interesting as well though, because they take place in North Carolina and you get to see a lot of what went on in the south during the years leading up to and during the American Revolution, which is not the stuff I learned about in school.

Leave a Reply

