Pictures from the Past: Emilie

1989–Facts About Me

  • I was six years old and in kindergarten in this picture.December 1989
  • My life had drastically changed about five months earlier: I was no longer an only child.  The cute little baby I’m holding is my brother, Geoffrey.
  • I’d also gotten my first pair of glasses a few weeks before Geoff was born.
  • This picture was taken at my maternal grandparents’ house, where I have some great memories of being dearly loved and spoiled rotten.
  • I think my grandma made the dress I’m wearing.  If not, she made one very similar to it.
  • The stocking and tree skirt were made by Aunt Kathy, my mom’s sister, who later made most of my wedding decorations.  (Alas, I did not inherit either Aunt Kathy’s or Grandma’s crafty tendancies.  Guess that’s why I write.)

1989–World Events

  • Soviet troops leave Afghanistan after nine years of occupation.
  • The Exxon Valdez spills 240,000 barrels of oil in Alaska’s Prince William Sound.
  • Student protests in China’s Tiananmen Square lead to the Tiananmen Square Massacre.
  • Nintendo releases its first Game Boy device.
  • East German government opens checkpoints along the Berlin Wall and within days the wall had been torn down.  The East German Communist goverment resigns a month later.
4 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Emilie

  1. Jennifer says:

    lol love the glasses 😀 I have a picture very similar of me in front of the xmas tree holding my baby brother 😀

    Can you believe the first gameboy came out in 1989!!!

  2. Tricia says:

    Wow! I forgot how many major things happened in 1989.

  3. Jennifer says:

    We were living in Germany at the time (my parents second tour) and they remember the Berlin Wall coming down. I don’t, of course I was only in 5th grade…

  4. Emilie says:

    Tricia–yeah, it’s pretty amazing that so much happened that year. It was the breakdown date of a lot of the Eastern Bloc countries, most spectacularly, of course, being Germany. It was also one of the major landmark years of my childhood, so interesting links…

    Jennifer–didn’t realize you lived in Germany at the time! Even if you didn’t remember the wall coming down, that’s something to tell your grandkids when you have them:)

Leave a Reply

