Pictures from the Past: Jennifer

Pictures from the Past

The present was as big as me!  And no one remembers what the gift was!

The present was as big as me! And no one remembers what the gift was!

Christmas 1980

1980 – Facts about Me

  • I was living in Worms, Germany.
  • My mom bought the pajamas for me because they were red and white and Christmas-y.
  • We had a live Christmas tree (that was soon to be the last year we ever had a live Christmas tree because I kept stepping on the needles and screaming bloody murder.)
  • I got my very own rocking chair as a gift that Christmas.
  • I was still an only child at this point.

1980 – It happened this year in history

  • February 14:  Walter Cronkite announces his retirement from CBS Evening News in February.
  • April 29: Alfred Hitchcock, the British film director who pioneered many techniques in the suspense and thriller genres, died.  His movie Rebecca won an Academy Award for Best picture in 1940.
  • May 18:  In Washington state, USA, Mount St. Helens erupted. It was one of the largest volcanic explosions to happen in North America in recorded history.
  • May 21:  The Empire Strikes Back is released in theaters.
  • October 21:   In 6 games, the Philadelphia Phillies win their first World Series.
4 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Jennifer

  1. Tricia says:

    How old were you?

  2. Jennifer says:

    A year and a half! 😀

  3. QNPoohBear says:

    I was 2 1/2! 1980 is too early for a Cabbage Patch Kid or I’d guess that. I’ll try to remember to ask my mom what I got for Christmas when I was 2. Maybe that will help solve the mystery!

    • Jennifer says:

      Yeah, I think I got my first cabbage patch kid when I was in 1st or 2nd grade 😀 I have a picture somewhere of the moment 😀

Leave a Reply

