The every day…from the past

If you’re anything like me, finding an old box full of papers–deeds, bills, bank statements, mortgage papers–gets you extremely excited!  Especially when they’re dated as early as 1905.  Some of my finds were too precious to keep in the box for just me to see.  So throughout the next couple months I’ll be sharing with you some of the treasures I’ve found: the, as I’m calling it, every day stuff…from the past.

I particularly love this one for many reasons. 1) Notice the hand writing! 2) This is from 1905, but the original form still had the "eight hundred" on it which they crossed off and filled in "nine" and 3) the words "in the year of Our Lord."

click to enlarge image

4 Responses to The every day…from the past

  1. Emilie says:

    At the home where my mother-in-law’s grandparents lived (and her aunt now lives but owns it jointly with her siblings), there is a framed teaching certificate belonging to (I think) my MIL’s grandfather, along with a letter saying they are trying to pay him but are finding it hard to do so and hope he will come back even so. I agree, these things are treasures:)

  2. Jennifer says:

    Yeah! It’s so neat to find things that are yellowed with age and go back generations before you were born! It’s like you get to, in a small way, experience a part of time before you even existed 😀 Love history!

  3. QNPoohBear says:

    I’m an archivist-in-training and I love working with old documents. 1905 is actually pretty recent! I’ve read diaries from the 18th century and early 19th century through to early 20th century. I’m currently working with Civil War papers. I also have a personal family archive which is really neat.

  4. The Damsels says:

    Yeah in the big scheme of things 1905 isn’t that long ago, but they’re some of the oldest documents that my family still has and showed me a part of their world and lives that I new nothing about. It is amazing to be able to go through some of the really older archived files. Sturbridge has a library you can go through (by appointment) with hundreds of documents from the early 1830s.

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

