Contest: Hellie Jondoe

In honor of “slangaholic” author Randall Platt, and all the fabulous expressions in Hellie Jondoe, to enter the contest to win a signed copy of our featured book, leave a comment here or in one of the other Hellie-themed posts this week about your favorite out-of-date slang expression.  In other words, what’s your favorite slang term no one ever says anymore but you wish they still did?

Our contests usually run for one week, but I’ll be out of town at a friend’s wedding next Friday through Sunday, so you have until Sunday Feb. 21 to come up with your grooviest, raddest word or phrase.  I’ll announce a winner Monday Feb. 22.  Have fun!

5 Responses to Contest: Hellie Jondoe

  1. Maria Gianferrari says:

    GREAT IDEA–MY FAVORITE IS DAGNABBIT! IT HAS THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF UMPF, AND YOU CAN USE IT GUILT-FREE IN FRONT OF THE KIDS!

  2. Jennifer says:

    When I was young and I got in trouble for swearing I created my own words of which “chocolate covered grasshoppers” was my favorite – however since it was a mouthful to say I shorten it to fudgehoppers!

    I also used fiddlesticks and fudgebuckets 😀 I still do use them today 😀

  3. CR says:

    I have two. “Piglets and little brown mice!” was an expletive used by a friend of mine in college. The other is: “Let’s get a wiggle on.” An expression from the Depression era, ‘wiggle’ was replaced by the far more mundane ‘move’ in later years. Great contest idea!

  4. Lara says:

    Woopsiedasies… I love woopsiedasies! I used to say it all the time when I was little… and even now, if I am with friend’s kids and they slip or hurt themselves I say woopsiedasies!

    It is a cute term for what it is… I wish people said it more often!

  5. Emilie says:

    These are some fantastic words and expressions! Remember, I’m not drawing a name to win the book until Monday since I’ll be out of town Friday through Sunday, so keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

