Contest: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

As I said in my review on Monday, I really enjoyed the wit and humor in The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate. So, to enter this month’s contest, post the name of a historical novel that you found humorous or that was even laugh-out-loud funny and tell us why. The winner will receive a signed copy of Jacqueline Kelly’s Calpurnia. I’ll post the results on Friday, April 2.  Good luck!

4 Responses to Contest: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

  1. Audry says:

    Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber, Ship’s Boy

    This book totally cracked me up. The story of a 12ish year old orphan girl who manages to disguise herself and become a ship’s boy… her dramatic swings from euphoria to despair as she escapes London, thinks she’s dying when she has certain girl troubles nobody’s told her about, dreams of owning her own ship, and constantly wonders about the fate of her eternal soul are constantly amusing. I actually listened to this one on audio, and I think the dramatization added to the entertainment factor.

  2. Tricia says:

    Yeah, that book did have a lot of fun stuff in it. 😀 A lot of hardship too, if I remember right. I think I’d like to listen to it–gives a little different feel to a book.

    There’s going to be a discussion of Bloody Jack on Nineteenteen (see the Damsels bloglist) on April 23 if you’d like to join in.

  3. Maria Gianferrari says:

    I know that the contest is over, but I absolutely loved “The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg!” Homer is hilarious, especially when he’s lying (which he often does). He has a captivating voice, and it was truly laugh-out-loud funny. The character names were funny too: crooks Stink & Smelt–very much in the tradition of Huck Finn/Tom Sawyer (though Homer’s from Maine). A great way to learn about the Civil War….

  4. Tricia says:

    Thanks for the recommendation! I haven’t read that book. It’s now on my list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

