Pictures from the Past: Jennifer

 
The Year is 1985! 

Jennifer got some cleaning genes!

  • I was six years old.
  • It was the summer of 1985 and we were moving from Ithaca, NY to West Springfield, VA (this was already my 4th move and I was only 6!)
  • My sister, Rebecca, was born in February.
  •  The picture was taken at my aunt’s house in Bergenfield, NJ.
  • My uncle had put me to work helping him with the yard work.
  • My mom and aunt were joking about child labor laws because my uncle had put me to work!

 It happened this year: 1985

Entertainment:

  • The Cosby Show, Murder, She Wrote, Cheers, Who’s the Boss?, and Growing Pains were popular tv shows.

 Notable:

  •  The first mobile phone call is made in the UK by Ernie Wise.
  • British scientists discover a hole in the Earth’s ozone layer.
  • The Nintendo Entertainment System is released in U.S. stores.

Cost of Living:

  • The average cost of gasoline is $1.09.
  • Minimum Wage is $3.35

Headlines:

  • President Reagan and Soviet Leader Gorbachev meet for the first time in Switzerland.
  • Microsoft Corporation releases Windows 1.0.
  • Compact discs are introduced to American Consumers.
4 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Jennifer

  1. Lara says:

    And you had blond hair!!!!! What the?????

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh I was a BLOND kid until about middle school 😀 Both me and my brother were blond as blond can be. My brother was blue eyes and being born in Germany (and of German decent) all the Germans thought he was really German – the little blue eyed blond hair boy.

  3. Tricia says:

    It’s funny because it looks like you are sweeping the dirt onto your feet! 😀

  4. Jennifer says:

    Ha I was probably sweeping it towards me and working backwards…that would have been something I’d have done.

Leave a Reply

