If you could…

In celebration of your 1 year anniversary (which will be this Friday) we thought we’d do a couple “fun” posts throughout the week.  Let’s start with a poll! Emilie, Tricia and I have each come up with two characters from some of our favorite historical and historical fantasy books. Now what we want to know is if you could be one of them who would you choose and why? Share your reasons in the comments section!

Brief Book Descriptions:
THE THIEF: Set in a time similar to ancient Greece, this alternate history/fantasy story takes place in a Byzantine-like civilization.

THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND: Set in 1687 New England. It’s about a girl who leaves her home in Barbados to live with her aunt and uncle in a small Puritan community in the Connecticut Colony.

SORCERY & CECELIA OR THE ENCHANTED CHOCOLATE POT: Set in 1817, this novel chronicles “the correspondence of two Young Ladies of Quality regarding various Magical Scandals in London and the Country.”

ALEX AND THE IRONIC GENTLEMAN: Set in a magical world, much like England in the 19th century, it’s about the swashbuckling adventures of a sixth-grade girl.

CATHERINE, CALLED BIRDY: Set in medieval England, it’s about a daughter of a minor nobleman who’s reached marriageable age.

HATTIE BIG SKY: Set in 1918 eastern Montana, it’s a bout a young sixteen-year-old orphan who decides to move by herself to her uncle’s abandoned homestead in Montana.

6 Responses to If you could…

  1. Jennifer says:

    While I would also be Hattie or Gen, I had to go with Kat. That was my first love when it came to books and I still love the book and well the 1600s…I think it’d be a challenge to live then but I’d love to try it…for a week or two 😀

  2. Lara says:

    I went with Alex, who wouldn’t want to have swashbuckling adventures when you are in the sixth grade! It’s the pirate in me! haha!
    But really, if I could live anyone’s life it would be Elizabeth Bennet’s, in a milli-second! 🙂

  3. Audry says:

    “ALEX AND THE IRONIC GENTLEMAN: Set in a magical world, much like England in the 19th century,” – except that there are cars and people have laptops and braces and the owner of a tavern has a dentist father who gives away free dental floss and toothbrushes, lol.

    Anyway, I chose Cecelia. I think I’d like to KNOW Gen, but I wouldn’t want to BE him… I also wouldn’t want Hattie’s or Kat’s extremely difficult lives. I haven’t read “Catherine, Called Birdy,” and Alex’s world is just too silly for me to think about seriously… I wouldn’t mind riding horses and having adventures and tea parties as a rich young lady in an alternate, magical version of 1817 though. 😀

  4. Tricia says:

    I’m with Audry on this one. I’d be Cecelia in a minute! She’s smart, funny, and magically adept. She also doesn’t take any guff from James. 😀

  5. Danielle Hinesly says:

    Oh, no! I haven’t read all of these, so I cannot vote. But I’ll add your book choices to my summer reading list. I am thrilled though that Kat, from Witch of Blackbird Pond, is on your top choices. It’s one of my favorite books of all time.

  6. Jennifer says:

    She’s an awesome character isn’t she. I’ve loved that book since I first read it in like 5th grade!

Leave a Reply

