Book Review: Ransome’s Honor

We’re going to deviate slightly this month.  Yes, we’ll still have our book review, author interview and contest, but instead of reviewing a children’s book, we’re going to be talking about Kaye Dacus’s historical romance series, The Ransome Trilogy.  Kaye was a classmate of ours at Seton Hill and I fell in love with Ransome’s Honor, the first book, last summer.  The second book in the series, Ransome’s Crossing, has just been released, and I had to share with everyone what an amazing book this was too!  I’ll start this week off by reposting my review of the first book from last summer.  Come back tomorrow to read my review of Ransome’s Crossing.

____________________________________________________________

Ransome’s Honor
Kaye Dacus
Historical Romance
Teenagers and up
352 pages

It’s no secret that I love historical fiction. I’d been eagerly anticipating my copy of Ransome’s Honor by Kaye Dacus, and it was worth the wait. Ransome’s Honor is a wonderful story about love, pride and forgiveness, and I can honestly say it’s one of the best Christian romance books I have read in a long time.

At age seventeen, Julia Witherington expects William Ransome to propose to her, but the fateful night ends up being anything but romantic. Twelve years later, William has returned, still in love with Julia. Though Julia is still bitter over her disappointed hopes, unscrupulous relatives after her inheritance force her to take drastic measures. She convinces William to agree to a false marriage, to avoid being forced to marry a devious cousin.

Set in 1814 Regency England, Ransome’s Honor is full of sweet romance and hair raising tension. The plot moves at a good pace, never slowing down or dragging. The tension that begins on page one continues to build to the end. Kaye also captured the Regency era beautifully. The time period came to life in my head through her descriptions from the clothes, to parties.

The two main characters made the book particularly memorable for me. Julia and William grabbed me from the first pages, and I couldn’t help but care about them and want to follow their journey through the ups and downs. I love that William and Julia sought God for guidance in their times of trouble as well.

I read a review that described Ransome’s Honor as “Persuasion with some Pride and Prejudice as well as a bit of Sense and Sensibility put within.” If you love Austen’s books you’ll enjoy this book. It has everything you can ask for: adventure, romance, and intrigue with love, trust, forgiveness and, most of all, honor. Once you start this book, don’t plan on accomplishing anything else until you finish it. I’m warning you, it’ll be impossible to put it down.

And one closing thought – as a military brat, a book that has the King’s Navy as a major part of its story…I couldn’t help but love it!

3 Responses to Book Review: Ransome’s Honor

  1. Emilie says:

    I loved this book as well, and I wish my library would hurry up and get the second one! It’s been on order for next to forever (thanks to my request, no less!).

  2. Jennifer says:

    The second is even better 😀 I think! I loved the first don’t get me wrong, but I loved loved loved Ransome’s Crossing.

  3. Danielle says:

    Time to go get the books!

Leave a Reply

