Contest: Ransome’s Crossing

A few weeks ago Emilie posted an article entitled “Scurvy and Scuttlebutt.” History buffs that we are, we knew that citrus juice was added to grog to prevent scurvy, and scuttlebutt was a synonym for gossip that originated in the navy. Little tidbits like this might not be necessary to know, but they’re interesting, and you never know when you’ll get a trivia question will require you to remember that random fact! In Ransome’s Crossing, I learned a new fact! Turpentine was used to help settle upset stomachs.

To be entered in this month’s contest, share with me some random fact you’ve learned from a historical book (or your research). It doesn’t have to be Regency Era related. Any fact, from any time period, will do. Also, as always, a comment on the interview will earn you an entry in the drawing as well.

5 Responses to Contest: Ransome’s Crossing

  1. Meg Mims says:

    Cobwebs were sometimes used as a country remedy to cover and heal an open wound. Unfortunately, if it was gathered from a stable wall with a rusty nail, you can imagine the possibilities of infection from tetanus or whatever. Still, back in the 1800’s, people swore by using raw onion on a wasp sting, and turpentine on cuts to heal them. Ugh!

  2. Audry says:

    I’ve been trying to think of a good piece of trivia to enter, but not being all that successful. I learned how blood sausage is made (gross!) and how whiskey is made, but neither of those is really a random interesting fact.

    Let’s see… I learned what “hangman’s grease” is, but I haven’t verified it through another source, so I’m not sure I want to spread the rumor. (I seem to learn a lot of gross facts from books somehow)

  3. Jennifer says:

    Okay, slight rule change – it doesn’t have to be random (unless you happen to have random) so long as it’s a fact you learned that you previously didn’t know.

    And Audry…you should have learned at least a couple new things from The Schoolhouse Disappearance 😀 😀

  4. Emily says:

    I know lots of random useless information, but I have no idea where I learned it. Sometimes I am not even sure I didn’t make it up. So I am not sure any of the things rattling around in my head could really be called “facts”

  5. QNPoohBear says:

    Colonial ministers were privy to all the best gossip in New England!

    Pilgrims wore a lot of bright colors because black required more dye and was more expensive.

    During the Revolutionary War, the British captured Newport, Rhode Island and were close to marching on Providence until the French fleet came and saved us. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

