From Venice, With Love

No this isn’t the title of my new spy novel. And sadly, no, I don’t have a spy novel, new or otherwise. But I did recently return from one of the most fascinating cities in the world—Venice. It’s a city of bridges, boats, canals, and cool historic architecture. We toured The Doge’s Palace and St. Mark’s Basilica. We rode gondolas, got lost, and ate great food. And we sweated. A lot.

It was seriously hot. So hot, in fact, that I recommend you visit Venice in the spring or fall, never in the summer. What must it have been like being in Venice centuries ago during a heat wave? I can imagine living there during the heyday of their republic. If I were a noblewoman, I would have probably stayed in my room being fanned by servants. Or maybe I would have decamped to northern France. If I were a pauper, I would have spent time floating around in the canal or searching for some other method to cool down.

No matter how hot, being there made me want to go back over books that are set in Venice such as Cornelia Funke’s The Thief Lord and Pat Lowry Collins’s Hidden Voices, reviewed by Jennifer HERE.

A busy Grand Canal

I took these photos with my iPhone so please excuse the quality and camera angles.  No zoom or wide angle lens makes for lots of upward shots. Hope you enjoy them!

Church of Santa Maria del Giglio

Campanile di San Marco--The Bell Tower in St. Mark's Square

The Doge's Palace at right.

Entering Venice from the Adriatic Sea.

8 Responses to From Venice, With Love

  1. Audry says:

    I love Venice. I only spent 3 days there during my semester in Italy, but it was one of my favorite cities. I hope to get back there one day.

  2. Emilie says:

    Sigh…beautiful shots, even with your iPhone, dear Tricia:)

  3. Tricia says:

    Thanks, Emilie. 😀

  4. Jennifer says:

    I want to go back there 😀 It’s on my to revisit list 😀 I have so many memories of the place! I see you got to ride in a gondola!!

  5. Tricia says:

    Yeah, Jennifer, we did. There were 13 of us. We fit in 3 gondolas. And when we made it out to the Grand Canal the gondaliers (sp?) maneuvered the boats side by side and started singing to us.

  6. Janet Reid says:

    I love Venice so much! I’m very envious of your trip! You’re right though: Venice in the summer is close to unbearable.

  7. QNPoohBear says:

    my parents were just there visiting friends (outside of Venice.) I’ll tell you what we learned long ago: Italians go to the mountains on vacation in August because it’s TOO hot! Many people also take a nap in the middle of the day. Try Slovenia or Austria next time you visit Italy in summer!

  8. […] some of you know, I went on a family trip last summer. It began with a couple of days in Venice (see photos here) and then a cruise on the Adriatic Sea with stops along the coast of Croatia. It was a great time […]

Leave a Reply

