Pictures from the Past: Emilie

Not that he would ever read this, but this post is in honor of my younger brother, Geoff, who turned (gulp) 21 earlier this month.  So even though I spent a lot of time wishing he’d go away when we were younger, now that he’s at least approaching adulthood, I’m glad he’s around.  And some of my favorite childhood memories of him are when we were on summer vacations.

1994–Facts About Me

  • This picture was taken in late July, which means I was ten and Geoff was about to turn five.
  • We were in Florida with our parents.  Our vacation that year was supposed to be to Mackinac Island in Michigan, but Mom found an offer for Disney World she couldn’t refuse, so Mackinac was post-poned until the following year.
  • This is my second trip to Disney World (Geoff’s first), and my second time on an airplane.  We boarded the plane, then had to get off and wait for about two hours due to a mechanical problem.  An art teacher sat near us at the gate and she sketched Geoff’s favorite stuffed animal, Puppy, and we kept that sketch on the fridge for years.
  • Geoff was a daredevil with the rides in Disney World.  He went with Dad on things like Big Thunder Mountain, while Mom and I stuck to the Mad Hatter’s Teacups.  However, Geoff did freak out at Snow White’s Adventures when the witch appeared.
  • Geoff had a much better time in the ocean than I did when I was four-going-on-five…as in, he didn’t swallow a mouthful of salt water and scream bloody murder:)

1994–World Events

  • This is the first year the Winter Olympics begin alternating with the Summer Olympics, so that there are games of some sort every two years.  Figure skating is the big draw at the ’94 games, due to the highly publicized attack on US skater Nancy Kerrigan.  Former Olympic-eligable skaters are also allowed to reinstate their eligability, bringing back favorite champs like Katarina Witt, Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean, and Ekaterina Gordeeva and Sergei Grinkov.
  • (Further in honor of Geoff)  Kurt Cobain, lead singer of the band Nirvana, is found dead in his home.
  • The Rwanda genocide kills hundreds of thousands.
  • South Africa marks the end of apartheid by holding multiracial elections.
3 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Emilie

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love that picture! I was in France and it was the first time I saw figure skating. FEll in love and took it up myself. Love figure skating 😀

  2. Emilie says:

    That’s when I fell in love with skating too. Even though I don’t watch much anymore, from 1994 until 2002, it was my wintertime hobby. My dad and I constantly duked it out for TV/VCR time because the Worlds always coincided with March Madness basketball stuff:)

  3. QNPoohBear says:

    I fell in love with figure skating that year too, especially Ekaterina Gordeeva and her husband-partner Sergei Grinkov, who died the following year. I HAD some of the 1994 Olympic figure skating competition on tape and stupidly erased it. I wish I could get it back.

Leave a Reply

