Contest: The Fences Between Us

We’re giving away an ARC (Advance Reading Copy) of Kirby Larson’s new book, The Fences Between Us: The Diary of Piper Davis, which marks the return of Scholastic’s Dear America series.  To enter the drawing, leave a comment and tell us which book in the Dear America series is your favorite and why.

If you’ve never read one of these (and I hadn’t until recently), simply tell us what your favorite historical novel is and why.  The winner will be announced next Wednesday, Sept. 22.  Good luck!

5 Responses to Contest: The Fences Between Us

  1. Audry says:

    My favorite historical novel is actually a series.. the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. They’re not 100% historical, as the main character actually time travels to the 1700’s from the 20th century, but the setting is historical, and I love all the details and how seamlessly she uses them to create (or should I say re-create) the world her characters live in. Her books are extremely well researched, and I love reading some small tidbit in one of her books and looking it up and finding out the rest of the story.

    For example, a few of the later books take place mostly in North Carolina in the years leading up to the Revolutionary war. Everything I learned in school about that time period happened in New England, but there were actually some important events taking place in the south as well, and it’s so neat to find about about them by reading a novel 😀

  2. Maria Gianferrari says:

    It’s too hard to name one favorite work of historical fiction, but I love Karen Cushman’s The Midwife’s Apprentice and Alchemy and Meggy Swann. A Northern Light is another favorite, as well as The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg. They all do an amazing job of creating a sense of place via voice.

  3. Heather J. says:

    I enjoyed A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly. It’s set in 1906. I happened to read Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables roughly at the same time which was published in 1908, but based on the author’s childhood experiences. The contrast was thought-provoking re: modern sensibilities in historical fiction.

    Number the Stars by Lois Lory is one of my all-time favorite historical novels.

  4. Emily says:

    I never got into the Dear America Series, although I am sure I have seen some of them. When I was the target audience, I have a feeling those were some of those books I passed over because I was sure they were all about teaching me things in that “fun” way adults alwalys seemed to think was a good way to shove even more stuff into my head (Yes, I was fed-up with schooling really early).

    In middle school I read, and reread several times, a book by Avi about a girl who went from passenger to sailor on a trans-Atlantic voyage (I don’t recall the title). I loved the main character- doing what was best for her rather that what was “required” by far away society, not really rebelling but trying to find her place even if it wasn’t at all proper.

    Also, a few years ago though I saw The Midwife’s Apprentice at the library and checked it out. I didn’t expect much of it, but it had a kitty on the cover so I gave it a shot. Once I started it, however, I couldn’t put it down. All the characters were so real, and the setting so perfectly described. I am pretty sure I finished it in one weekend, if not one day. I’d have probably read more by the same author, but there were no other books by her on the shelf and then I immediately forgot her name.

  5. Tricia says:

    Emily– That Avi book sounds like The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, which I also enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

