Writing Conference Overload

I spent last weekend in Tucson with a writer friend. We attended the Society of Southwestern Authors’ 38th Annual Wrangling With Writing Conference. This is my third conference/workshop/writing weekend for 2010 and I’m happy to say I’m done. That’s it for the year.

It’s not that I didn’t enjoy the conference. I did. But after two full days of workshops, keynote speeches, crowds, and pitch sessions, the brain becomes a bit frazzled. At least mine did. Does. Is.

Anyway, now it’s time to process what I learned. And relearned. The most important thing for me was hearing bestselling author Bob Mayer’s keynote speech, “The Green Beret Approach to Conquering Fear and Succeeding.” It impacted me so much that I bought his book, Warrior Writer: From Writer to Published Author, and have started going through the exercises in it. The book deals with conquering fears, many that we don’t realize we have, and setting goals for your writing career.

I’ve never been good at setting goals for writing, usually because I assume I won’t reach them. (Anyone see the problem?) But now I’m excited about the changes I’ll be making in my career as I set goals and focus on the things that will bring those goals about. First up, getting my submissions in order to send to the agents that I pitched to. Then, writing as if it were my job. (Duh!) And, all the while, allowing my brain to slowly process what happened during the weekend.

Anyone have conference or post-conference experiences you like to share? How do you process what you learn?

For more information on Bob Mayer and his books, check out his website—http://www.bobmayer.org.

3 Responses to Writing Conference Overload

  1. Danielle says:

    That whole thing about fear is huge for me, so it’s good to see it addressed here. Thanks!

  2. Emilie says:

    Tricia, when I did 2 conferences in 2 months, I was totally on overload. Both were fabulous SCBWI cons, but being with that many people and paying attention like I was back at SHU twice in about six weeks was too much for this introvert:) Now I know–space them out!

    You are coming to my Seattle-area con this spring, right? Right? Yes?

  3. Tricia says:

    Ha, Emilie! Maybe. 😀

Leave a Reply

