New England in the Fall…different yet still the same after all these years

I had a different post scheduled for today, but after my visit to Old Sturbridge Village this weekend I decided to postpone my initial post and share with you scenes from rural New England in the fall. I don’t care what anyone says, nothing will convince me that there’s any better place to live than New England come September and October. There’s just something magical about this time of year here. Glorious sunny days with a bit of a chill to the air…leaves changing from green to bright reds, oranges, yellows and every shade of brown…weekends spent picking apples and baking everything from apple pies, to apple muffins, even apple pancakes…it doesn’t get much better than that. Much has changed in New England since 1830, but so much is still the same including that magic of fall. Come take a walk with me and enjoy the wondrous joys New England offers. And just be forewarned, it might be a little hard to figure just what time period you’re supposed to be in!

Enjoy… (click on images to enlarge) Beets, gourds and apple trees…you know it’s Fall in New England. Apple time! It’s that time.  The Nut Mill is working, crushing those apples, getting them ready for the cheese press tomorrow, so the farmers can make their apple cider for the year.  Even Henry (oxen) is a fan of apples!

From pork apple pie (top left) to making cider molasses (bottom left), the farm is busy getting ready for the winter to come.  In the kettle, boiling over the fire pit, is the cider the farmers have made.  The women would boil down the cider to get rid of the water so they were just left with the sugar, which created a very thick cider molasses.

The fire pit was a familiar sight in the farmyard.  While kitchen fireplaces where large, they still couldn’t accommodate the largest kettles.  A fire pit was the ideal alternative.  The fire pit commonly provided hot water for laundry (done only during spring, summer and fall) and was also helpful with seasonal chores–like making cider molasses, maple sugaring or in this case cleaning and dying sheep’s wool.

7 Responses to New England in the Fall…different yet still the same after all these years

  1. Tricia says:

    Love this! Thanks for all the beautiful photos. I’ve long since wanted to visit New England in the fall, but have never had the opportunity. (Being there as an infant doesn’t count.) 😀

  2. Jennifer says:

    You should totally come visit sometime! You can come visit me (and I’ll get Emilie to come on over too) and I’ll bring you apple picking, we can go on a hike… (I’d probably drag you to OSV :P) It’s a great place to visit 😀

  3. Emilie says:

    I love fall!!!!!!!

    (Except here in the NW, where most of the trees are evergreens anyway, and fall means rain for the foreseeable future…but growing up in the Midwest, I loved fall!)

    Your pictures are lovely!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Yeah there’s something special about a real New England (or even a midwest hehe :D) Fall. Nothing quite like it!

  5. QNPoohBear says:

    New England in the fall – um how about all that RAIN? It’s gorgeous to look at and I missed it when I lived a little further south in DC but fall makes my allergies act up. I think I’ll stay indoors and look out the window.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Lol the rain is not that bad. In fact the rain is less a problem in fall and more in the spring usually. But yeah people with allergies…not always a fun place to be 🙂 but I still love it.

  7. QNPoohBear says:

    ahh you must be farther west. I’m coastal southern New England and we got whalloped with tropical storms the last two weeks, on top of the historic flooding last spring. Today is beautiful and I wish someone was home to take me out to Sturbridge. I’ve never been there in the fall and your pictures are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

