Simple Remedies

America Frugal Housewife

CALF’S FOOT JELLY

Boil four feet in a gallon of water, till it is reduced to a quart. Strain it, and let it stand, till it is quite cool. Skim off the fat, and add to the jelly one pint of wine, half a pound of sugar, the whites of six eggs, and the juice of four large lemons; boil all these materials together eight or ten minutes. Then strain into the glasses, or jars, in which you intend to keep it. Some lay a few bits of the lemon-peel at the bottom, and let it be strained upon them.

For those wondering what calf’s foot jelly is…it is (and I quote the dictionary here) “a savory jelly made with gelatin obtained by boiling calves’ feet.” Savory and calves feet don’t quite go hand in hand in my mind…but hey! Calf’s Foot Jelly was often a food fed to invalids back in the 1800s.

…presented to you from The American Frugal Housewife – Dedicated to those who are not ashamed of economy, by Mrs. Child…

2 Responses to Simple Remedies

  1. Polly says:

    When I was a little girl, my parents bought me a copy of Pollyanna–undoubtedly hoping I might become more of a “glad girl” myself. It was the first long book I read to myself, and I was very curious about the calf’s foot jelly that Pollyanna regularly took to an invalid. I imagined it as something sort of disgusting and brown. I never imagined it might be sweet and lemony! What fun all these years later to find out what it really was–and to learn it from one of my heroes, Lydia Maria Child (a hero for her abolitionist work, rather than her Frugal Housewife or her poems and stories for children). She was an amazing woman!

  2. QNPoohBear says:

    I thought of Pollyanna too. Also the BBC series Larkrise to Candleford.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00gbbl0

    The characters make Calf’s Foot Jelly in one episode in season 1. It looks pretty disgusting to me.

Leave a Reply

