The Everyday from the Past: Thank you to our Veterans

This letter gets me misty eyed every time I read it. Some things don’t change much over time. Sure we’ve got email today, but letters home to love ones haven’t changed much. Maybe it’s because my brother, after a very hard and sad deployment, has just returned home that this letter especially gets to me.

I have to smile at the end as he ends the letter “x x x x x x x x x” Lots of kisses! I can, to some degree, understand this longing to be with your love one. This great great (not sure exactly how many) uncle never made it home. He gave his life fighting in Italy during WW2.

Today’s Veterans Day. Take a moment to thank a soldier. So many have served this great country. So many have paid the ultimate price and gave their lives for this country.

Thank you, to my brother, father, grandfather, and every man and woman who’s served.

Leave a Reply

