Dubrovnik or Bust . . .

As Emilie said last week, we at the Damsels are taking a few weeks to write about our current works in progress. And they’re not historical! Here’s how mine began:

As some of you know, I went on a family trip last summer. It began with a couple of days in Venice (see photos here) and then a cruise on the Adriatic Sea with stops along the coast of Croatia. It was a great time over all.  But perhaps the best thing about it, and most writers will agree with me here, was the story idea that developed immediately after.

You see, the places we went and the adventures we had were all fresh in my mind. I wondered what it might be like for a young teenage girl to be forced to go on a trip like this with her grandparents. And just like that, I had a character talking to me, telling me exactly what she thought about such a trip—because she was on it.

This, needless to say, has been a lot of fun. One of the hard parts of writing historical fiction is, of course, the research. The need to get the historical context right. This disappears when writing contemporary fiction.

That doesn’t mean there isn’t any research to be done.  For example, the places and events that were so fresh in my mind in July have now become a bit stale. During the fall, I worked mostly on revising my historical fantasy. Then the holidays came along and I worked on—nothing. So now I will have to look up city names and study photos to get myself back on that small cruise ship.

But I’m looking forward to it. Because my young protagonist has a lot of adventures ahead of her.  And, you see, there’s this hot guy . . .

8 Responses to Dubrovnik or Bust . . .

  1. When we were in Prague a few years ago, I outlined an entire novel, which I have yet to write, so I know just what you mean.

    Coincidentally, Jason and I are planning a Croatia/Slovenia/Italy trip!

  2. Tricia says:

    Very cool about your trip! Croatia was really beautiful with lots of historical sites. I don’t know what I expected–maybe second world country?–but I really liked it.

    Is it time to pull out that outline? 😀

  3. Emilie says:

    I got a short story idea in Amsterdam, but like you, Heidi, I stopped after the plotting stage. Trips to Europe will do that to you, I swear!

  4. Catrina says:

    Ooooh, hot guy?
    I’m kidding! Anyhow, finish writing it already, I want to read it! 🙂

  5. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like a fun story 🙂 That still pulls in some history 😀 or at least architecture (hey you know me I love architecture–that’s what was/is so fun about my current WIP the world building! Not saying any more you’ll just have to wait till next week to read my post :))

  6. Tricia says:

    Okay, Catrina! I’ll do my best. 😎

  7. An alaskan cruise a few years ago had the same effect on me: I came home with a story idea, outlined it (more or less)… , and it’s still in my filing cabinet. I’m glad, though, because it means I have something to work on whenever I finish my current WIPs. It’s always good to have something on the back shelf.

  8. Tricia says:

    Yes, Elizabeth, it is good!

Leave a Reply

