Damsels’ Trip Around the World: Greece

Our next stop on our virtual trip around the world is Greece. Now I know what you might be thinking. Oh, right, ancient Greece, lots of historical stuff there. Great archeological ruins. Great examples of classic architecture. Wonderful mythology that has sparked many a fantasy novel. Recent economic troubles. (Okay, you may not be thinking of that last one.)

All except the last are great reasons to visit Greece. They’re just not my reasons. Of course if I get the opportunity to go, I’ll be sure to tour famous archeological ruins, UNESCO World Heritage Sites, museums, and olive groves. But the idea of visiting Greece was never compelling for me until I saw—wait for it—The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants movie.

Fira Santorini Cyclades Islands; Author: ppalmward http://www.wallpaperbase.com

When the character of Lena, played by Alexis Bledel, goes to Greece, I found myself riveted. The beauty of the place knocked my socks off. The story would be rolling along, but I was distracted by the terrain, by white buildings on a hillside, by donkey rides. There was a romance being played out on the screen and all I was thinking was, Look at that water. Have you ever seen such a color? (And I’m a sucker for a good romance.) Now I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy the movie. I did. But the thought that I wanted to visit a country because of a young adult novel made me happy.

So, onward to Greece. I’d love to experience the culture firsthand, eat great food, wander hilly streets, and take in the vivid colors. Oh, yeah, I’ll visit some ancient ruins, too. Anyone want to go?

4 Responses to Damsels’ Trip Around the World: Greece

  1. Audry says:

    Yes! I want to go! 😀

  2. Jennifer says:

    Tricia, that’s the one thing I felt when watching that movie too! It made me want to go live in a house on the cliff side over looking that amazing water 😀

  3. Emilie says:

    I watched that movie with a friend who had been to Greece and she assures me Santorini actually looks just like that. Made me want to go as well:)

  4. Tricia says:

    Yay! Maybe we can all go together someday. That would be wild. 😀

Leave a Reply

