Pictures from the Past: Emilie

Step aside, William and Kate:

Okay, so it wasn’t that far in the past, but in honor of the huge wedding last week, my contribution to Pics from the Past is from September 30, 2006.

  • On that day, just after 12:30 p.m., my dad walked me down the aisle of New Haven United Methodist Church in New Haven, Indiana, to Bach’s “Sleepers Awake,” played by my childhood piano teacher.
  • Mike and I had been a couple for seventeen months and three days before that point, and I had declared my intent to marry him five days before our first date.  I didn’t say this to him, of course, but to my close friend Lana, who, along with her husband, Glen, officiated the ceremony.
  • My dress was an off-the-shoulder satin A-line–the dress of my dreams–and it skimmed the floor in my bare feet, sparing me the need to wobble in high heels.
  • My veil was a gift from bridesmaid and college roommie, Abby.  She and her mother sewed left-over toulle onto a comb and sewed a border of white satin ribbon along the edges.  On the comb they glued sprays of pearl beads and tiny flowers.
  • The pearl necklace was my grandmother’s, as were the diamonds on my rings.  Her “illusion top” setting drew stares from the jeweler, who asked if Mike knew those had been out of style for over fifty years, but I loved it and have received compliments ever since.
  • We were married near my home town of Fort Wayne, Indiana, honeymooned in Savannah, Georgia, drove to a second reception in Mike’s home town of Fort Mill, South Carolina, then I joined Mike in his apartment in Redmond, Washington.  We still bless the travel agent who figured out all those flights!

Tidbits from 2006

  • Pluto is officially demoted from “planet” to “dwarf planet.”  (My ring bearer, who was six and on a huge astronomy kick, cried because he thought Pluto had been destroyed.)
  • A suspected terrorist attack using liquid explosives on transatlantic flights is thwarted.  Its lasting effects are felt by all of us who routinely squeeze our toiletries into three-ounce containers when we fly.
  • Montenegro declares independence from Serbia.
  • Housing prices were still on their way up.  In greater Seattle, at least, they were close to a record high by the end of the year.
  • Finally, in a nod to last week’s happy couple, on April 21, 2006, Queen Elizabeth II turned 80.
3 Responses to Pictures from the Past: Emilie

  1. Audry says:

    Now I want to see a picture of you ring 🙂

  2. Audry says:

    your*

  3. Tricia Tighe says:

    Me too! 😀

Leave a Reply

