Contest: Phantoms in the Snow

You all know you want to win a signed book about skiing soldiers, right?  Because it’s one of the most original WWII stories I’ve read in a long time and just a good book on top of that.  So, to enter, please comment with the following:

In the book, Noah, a farmer’s son from Texas, has to learn to ski in Colorado and become a soldier after a lifetime of being raised a pacifist.  He spends most of the book convinced he can’t do it, only to discover he can.  Name a time in your life when you were faced with a challenge you thought for sure you could never overcome, only to discover afterward you were able to be smart, crafty, or just plain stubborn enough to get the job done.

NEW CONTEST RULE: I’ll announce a winner Monday morning, since all of our contest comments seem to come in the first couple days anyway.  So don’t put it off–you can do it!

4 Responses to Contest: Phantoms in the Snow

  1. Audry says:

    It was hard for me to think of an answer to this question, because I have always kind of had the attitude that I can do anything I can put my mind to. One big challenge though is a current one – I recently started running, with the goal of keeping up with my little (9 years younger!) sister in a 5k road race at some point in the future. (She talked me into doing one with her Memorial day, and beat me by 9 minutes, and it wasn’t even a good time for her.) I don’t know if it’s possible, but I think it is… and I’m giving it my best shot, regardless!

  2. Audry says:

    ok, my secret REAL goal is to beat her…. 😀 😀 😀

  3. I could never understand how some writers wrote 1000+ words a day when I could barely get that in a week, so I started forcing myself to write first 250 words each day, then 300, then adding 50 every week or so until I reached that 1000 mark. Who would have thought that it would be one of the most difficult goals I’ve ever set for myself! It took almost a year to get to that point, but I am tenacious if nothing else and have always believed if someone else can do something, so can I.

    Now I consistently write 2000 words a day and am amazed I had problems sticking to this routine before. Interesting how perspectives change…

  4. Tricia says:

    Wow, Heidi! It shows what happens when you take small steps and are persistent. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

