Emilie’s Top Christmas Songs

Jennifer’s list of favorite Christmas songs will prove quite impressive and well-researched, I’m sure.  Don’t get your hopes too high for mine.  Mostly it’s because I love Christmas carols and if I’m honest, the versions that still stir my heart the most are the ones from my “Wee Sing Christmas” cassette that I memorized around age four.  They are, amazingly enough, not on YouTube for your listening pleasure!

I’m also not a big fan of most contemporary Christmas pieces.  It runs in the family, let me tell you.  Around the holidays, I crave tradition, “the way it always was,” be it food, decorations, or music.  But there are a few new songs I’ve discovered that I enjoy, so they’ll come alongside my favorite carols.

(Unlike Jennifer’s, mine aren’t really in a particular order.)

Julie Andrews is my all-time favorite celebrity of any sort, and I could listen to her music all day long.  Her Christmas album from 1973 is often playing in my house this time of year, and I particularly like her version of O Come, All Ye Faithful

I don’t care for Meet Me in St. Louis and Judy Garland isn’t my favorite, but I’ve always liked this melancholy little song, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.  I even provided piano accompaniment one Christmas in high school for a friend who sang it as a solo in a choir concert.

Leave a comment