Emilie’s Top Christmas Songs Part 4

Marrying into a family of classical singers and organists has expanded my horizons of high choral music.  Classical instrumental music I knew from my own piano and flute training, but being the terrible singer I am, I kind of missed the choral stuff.  But the Christmas my husband and I were dating, I bought him a CD of King’s College Cambridge Lessons and Carols, and we’ve listened to it every year since.  The opening song, “Once in Royal David’s City,” is nothing short of stunning.

While my husband spent his childhood learning to sing like those boys, I spent most of my “tween” years memorizing Mariah Carey songs.  While I love the original version of her Christmas hit, “All I Want for Christmas is You,” I am a sucker for the entire movie Love Actually.  I was thrilled that someone thought to put this song in one of the most adorable movies ever.

Leave a comment